Committees & Topical Interest Groups (TIGs)


The Society for Applied Anthropology has a number of committees and Topical Interest Groups designed to act as forums for our members in specialized areas.  On this page, you will find links to current committee membership and posted resources provided by each of the committees. You will also find links to active TIGs on the SfAA Online Community.  

Executive Committee

Executive Committee


Michael Paolisso (2021-2022)  
Department of Anthropology  
University of Maryland  


Gemmae Fix (2022-2025)
School of Public Health
Boston University

President Elect

Jennifer Wies (2022)
Department of Anthropology
Eastern Kentucky University


Sunil Khanna (2021-2024)
Public Health Practice Program
Oregon State University



Award Committees

Distinguished Awards

Malinowski Committee

Elizabeth Briody, Chair 2023
Katherine Johnson 2024
Spero Manson 2024
Lucero Radonic 2024
Colin West 2024

Mead Committee

Narges Bajoghli, (AAA)
Andrew Gardner, Chair
Kathi Kitner
Claudio Sopranzetti (AAA)

Sol Tax Committee

Roberto Alvarez 2023
Alejandra Colom, Chair 2024
Amy Drassan Ham 2024
Carlos Garcia-Quijano 2024
Riall Nolan 2024

Other Awards

P.K. New Committee

Richard Hessler, Chair 2025
Christina Getrich 2024
Jeffrey Colman Salloway 2025
Max Stein 2024

Pelto Committee

Judith Freidenberg, Chair Jon Pelto
Russell Bernard Mark Schuller
Merrill Eisenberg Jim Waldram
Isaac Nyamongo  

Hackenberg Committee

Donald Stull, Chair Diane Austin
Adrian Benedetti Kerry Feldman
Beverly Hackenberg Peter Kunstadter
Michael Paolisso Jeremy Spoon
Linda Whiteford  

Student Travel Awards

Bodley Committee

Ben Burgen 2022
Xianghong Feng  
Pasng Sherpa, Chair  
Troy Wilson 2023

Kushner Committee

Jay Sokolovsky, Chair
Gregory Reck
Maria Vesperi

Resettlement Committee

Michael Cernea, Chair Julie Maldonado
Chad Dear William Patridge
Lance Larkin Susan Tamondong

Bea Medicine Committee

Richard Stoffle, Chair Nancy Owen Lewis
Ted Garner Clint Westman

Del Jones Committee

Cynthia Grace-McCaskey 2024
Antoinette T. Jackson 2022
Heather Schacht Reisinger 2021
Kaniqua Robinson 2023

Spicer Committee

Kira Ballin 2024
Alison Greenberg 2021
Lance Laird 2021

Standing Committees

Standing Committees


Michael Paolisso President
Jennifer R. Wies President Elect
Gemmae Fix Secretary
Sunil Khanna Treasurer
Neil Hann Executive Director

Human Rights/Social Justice Committee

Human Rights & Social Justice Committee Page

Eric Bailey, Chair 2024
Joe Heyman 2020
James Loucky 2023
Amy Paul-Ward 2022

Nominations & Elections

Patricia M. Clay 2024
Maria Cruz-Torres 2023
Hillary J. Haldane, Chair 2025

Oral History

Oral History Committee Page

John van Willigen 2024
Susan Abbott-Jamieson 2020
Juliana McDonald, Chair 2024
Barbara Rylko-Bauer 2019


Melissa Cope  
Lisa Jane Hardy 2021
David Himmelgreen 2021
Quinn Houlihan 2023
Sarah Lyon 2023
Lenore Manderson 2023
Chad Morris, Chair 2022
Sameena Mulla 2024
Kevin Newton 2023
Nancy Romero-Daza 2021
Abril Saldana 2023
Jeanne Simonelli 2021
Orit Tamir 2021

Special Committees

Special Committees

Immigration Initiative

Donald Stull, Chair Rosina Hassoun
Diane Austin Josiah Heyman
Judith Freidenberg James Loucky

Paredes Memorial Plenary

Heidi Altman, Chair  
Linda Dawn Carson Steve Schensul
Alleen Deutsch Jay Sokolovsky
Kelly Fayard Maria Vesperi

Kearney Lecture

Louise Lamphere, Chair  
Carole Nagengast, Ex-Officio  
James Loucky 2019
Gina Nuñez-Mchiri 2019

Road to 100 Planning

Heather Reisinger, Co-Chair
Sunil Khanna, Co-Chair
Nadine Bendycki Lauren Johnson
Alejandra Colom A. Rey Villaneuva
Nikia Grayson Jennifer Wies
Kendall House  

Committee (SfAA Global)

Judith Freidenberg, Chair  
Robyn Eversole 2023
Lenore Manderson 2023
Carlos Vélez-Ibáñez 2023

Racial Justice Task Force

Sunil Khanna, Chair
Eric Bailey Heather Reisinger
Spirit Brooks Amy Paul-Ward
Sherri Briller Joyce Rivera-Gonzalez
Melinda Gonzaléz Risako Sakai
Noémie Gonzalez  

Topical Interest Groups

Topical Interest Groups

Members of the Society who share a particular interest may ask the Board to establish a Topical Interest Group. TIGs are informal vehicles for information exchange and collaboration. Requests for the formation of a TIG should include a brief rationale for the topic’s relevance to applied social science, and identification of founding members.

Once a TIG is formed it may publish information in the SfAA News, organize sessions at the annual meeting, and request a meeting room at the annual meeting. TIGs are asked to provide a written report to the Board in conjunction with the fall meeting of the Board each year.

©Society for Applied Anthropology 

P.O. Box 2436 • Oklahoma City, OK 73101 • 405.843.5113 •